My Land

I am redefining the definition of my country
as I live new moments at every foot-step abroad
My mind was shaken by the Emotions when I left my own country,
and I had never thought of being so attached to the other country..
Other country, other land, which now is so dear to me.
People here have loved me so much that
I created my own little world on the other land..

I am redefining the definition of “the world”
Our own world, made beautiful by the nature
The nature here is so different.. It’s not always the same
It’s pleasant sometimes and harsh most of the times
Am all surrounded by the white people here
I was supposed to like them
They have taught me great lessons of life
People having their own peculiar features
People having their own individuality
People showing me my place in their society
People making me feel I am their’s

I am redefining the definition of “my people”
Friends who call me (by names) and take me wherever they want
Neighbours who wish me good luck for exams
Girl-friend who hugs me when a new recipe is a success
Professors who are more than the teachers
Strangers on the street who smile at me and suddenly become well-known
Dutch Friends who talk in English when I am around…

I am redefining what is a friend and a friendship too
Friend who helps me cook
Friend who serves as a beer-p(o)int
Friend who buys me Grocery
Friend who runs and swims and plays with me…
Friends who follow their hobby and make me follow mine
Friends who taught me “Life is fun”

I am redefining the definition of “the life”
Other land has not become MOther-land, but certainly it has become My-land.
The city once unknown to me, has become so familiar..
My lungs want to get filled in with the air of the city..
Temporary neighbours have become permanent residents of the heart
Relations which are beyond the religion, the caste and the language,
They make this life singularly charming.
I am redefining myself in this “other world”…

2 thoughts on “My Land

What do you think ? Share it !